This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

seal1

Marriage Records/Licenses

Marriage Records

Cabell County marriage records date back to 1809. 

Marriage records must be 50 years old before the general public can obtain a certificate.  However, actual marriage applications are not open to the general public.

Who can obtain a marriage certificate?

The parties involved, his or her immediate family, guardians, or legal representatives.

Immediate family includes:  mother or father, son or daughter, brother or sister, husband or wife, mother-in-law or father-in-law, son-in-law or daughter-in-law, grandparents, grandchildren, stepmother or stepfather, stepchild

Identification Requirements:  A picture I.D. is required and includes a State Issued I.D., Driver’s License, Work I.D., Student I.D., etc.

Fee for Certified Copy:  $5.00

Marriage Licenses

Requirements for Obtaining a Marriage License

Applying for Marriage License

  • Appointment only.
  • Parties must come to the County Clerk’s office together to apply.
  • Parties must fill out and sign a Marriage License Application.
  • Parties must present valid identification with proof of age (Ex:  Driver’s License, State Identification, Passport or U.S. Armed Forces Identification)
  • Non-Citizens:  If one or both applicants are residents of a foreign country and do not have a social security card, then they must present a Green Card, Work Visa, Passport, Tourist, or Visitor Visa Number.
  • Parties must provide Social Security Number.  If the applicant(s) are residents of a foreign country and do not have a Social Security Number, they must present a green card, work visa, passport, or a tourist/visitor visa number.
The fee for obtaining a Marriage License, without pre-marriage counseling, is $57.00.
The fee for obtaining a Marriage License, with pre-marriage counseling, is $37.00.
Proof of marriage counseling must be presented at the time an application for a license is made.  The premarital education course completion certificates must be dated within one year of the application for marriage, on letterhead, and signed by the minister or counselor.
Parties must provide Mother’s and Father’s full names (First, Middle, and Last Name) and place of birth (City, State, and Country).
If either party has been previously married, they must provide the exact month, day, and year that the previous marriage ended and indicate if was by death or divorce. If the divorce occurred in the past 2 months, a final decree will need to be presented. 

Marriage License are:

Issued while you wait, effective immediately after issued, valid for 60 days, effective only in West Virginia, must be married by a minister that is registered in the State of West Virginia or Judicial Judge, and no blood test is required.

Fees are paid by Cash